Pancakes on Ice

Sunday morning I made pancakes and turkey sausage, filled our thermoses with steaming hot chai, packed it all up and we ate outside at Orchard Beach.  I wanted to see how the snow was looking. The Big Guy agreed, but he really did not want to go.  I could tell.  But the beach was so beautiful. All the tree branches were shimmering with ice.    I was reminded of that silver tinsel we’d hang from the Christmas tree for icicles.  I can’t remember the last time I’ve seen trees so silvery. Almost every surface was wrapped in a skin of ice. The pancakes were still warm when we unwrapped them and buttery and syrupy and cooling quickly.  What was most startling was the sound of the ice crackling and snapping over our heads — it was melting.  Soon we had an arc of squawking gulls and pigeons around us.  Skittish creatures. But their hungry distance was slowly closing  in.  Soon we packed up our plates and walked up the boardwalk a bit, then veered off onto the sand — crunchy snow covered sand.  The Big Guy was laughing.  “This beach looks like Mars.” We walked out of the snow into the ocean.  Our boots ankle high in the water.  We looked for horseshoe crabs.  We didn’t see any.   Actually I can’t think of a better start to the New Year.

Happy New Year Dear Readers!

p.s.  If you’d like the recipe for the pancakes (made entirely from scratch!) I’d be happy to email it to you.  Just contact me through the comment field below.

One thought on “Pancakes on Ice

  1. I was very flattered when I read your comment about Zumba.
    I noticed you posted it in February 2009; that means you were referring to my class. I make the distinction because another Zumba instructor is teaching as well now.

    The comment about the Zumba class sounding like a party is exactly the motto Zumba aspires to with every class. That’s is what it should feel like; a party!!!
    I hope you have continued the classes. They are being held in the gym now due to the popularity of Zumba, the studio was just not big enough!!! Zumba baby!!!!
    Thanks again for the comment!
    Hilda Rosario

Leave a Reply

