To Market , To Market

July 3, 2008 at 11:45 pm Leave a comment


I import about 99% of my groceries from Manhattan. On a given Saturday morning, my movements are highly predictable by those that know me: I am in some state of getting to or coming from the Union Square Farmer’s Market. A trip there is a fix for me, it sets my weekend on the right foot and if I miss it, I’m cranky the rest of the day, possibly the entire weekend. I go even when my fridge is full with yellow and red chard, flowering thyme, Boston lettuces red and green, chocolate mint, garlic scapes, rocambole garlic, lamb’s quarters (wild spinach), zucchini, crab cakes, black sea bass, smoked pheasant sausage, fresh lamb sausage with pomegranate, cumin and ginger and on and on… I know a few of the farmers by sight and my fish guy calls me “Barracuda” after I told him how I reeled one in on a fishing trip in Jamaica. I haul everything back to the Bronx on the 6 train in freezer bags fitted with ice packs. Of all that I miss about Manhattan, the Union Square Farmer’s Market is at the top of my list.

So when the opportunity came to get to the NY Botanical Garden Farmer’s Market, I could hardly wait.
This greenmarket is on Wednesday days only from late June to late October. I had a free day to go and so did my neighbor Sue, so we hopped on the bus. The market, just inside the garden entrance at the Mosholu Gate, is tiny with three farmers and one baker. I recognized two stands from Union Square. The prices are comparable to Manhattan. Even though my fridge was full that day, I bought fresh bread and more zucchini anyway. Sue bought gorgeous strawberries and rhubarb for a crisp. The best part of the trip was sitting under the majestic Tulip Trees that lead to the luminous Mertz Library Building. Families arrived and children were doing cartwheels on the lawn just behind the Do Not Walk on Grass signs. We sat and talked until we noticed that Sue’s rhubarb leaves were beginning to wilt.

The New York Botanical Garden is free on Wednesdays for strolling the grounds only. This added benefit makes the trip even more worthwhile on a gorgeous summer day. Sue’s strawberry rhubarb crisp with a surprising twist of cardamom, toasted almonds and orange zest was delicious and I regret I didn’t take a bigger piece. Toting my many bags of groceries and ice on the 6 train from Manhattan is exhausting. I’ll have to figure something out…The other Bronx greenmarkets are on my list to check out and I’ve read there’s a food coop in the South Bronx. Surely, the Union Square market bounty will be tricky to find here in the Bronx. If anything I’ll keep going down to Union Square just to be called ” Barracuda”.

Entry filed under: Farmer's Market, Food, NY Botanical Garden. Tags: .

Rockin’ Out with Bronx Underground Trolley Ride

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Bronx Bohemian…In Search of the Artsy and Boho in The Bronx

Get the Feeds

Recent Tweets

Categories

Bronx Bloggers

BronxMama
a great resource for Bronx parents

Chiz
artist/painter...her book "Alphabet City" published last year. Congrats Chiz!

Boogie Downer
all that's hot in culture & politics. Amazing condo & apt listings.

Tree Museum
public art project in celebration of The Grand Concourse Centennial.

Social Networking site of the Tree Museum
forum created by artist Katie Holten for the Tree Museum project

Bronx Latino
the people and the culture of the Bronx from a Latino perspective

En Foco's Blog
a place to chat about cultural diversity in photography

Bronx News Network
because every neighborhood needs a voice!

From The Bronx
like Facebook but for the Bronx!

site meter

website metrics

